FEB 1 9 2002

STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

FILED

IN RE APPOINTMENTS TO APPEAL PANEL PURSUANT TO MINN. STAT. § 253B.19, SUBD. 1(2000)

ORDER

The Supreme Court is required to appoint an appeal panel under the provisions of Minn. Stat. § 253B.19, Subd. 1 (2000),

NOW, THEREFORE IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

The following judges are reappointed members of the appeal panel for a period of one year from May 1, 2002:

The Honorable Joanne M. Smith The Honorable Leslie M. Metzen

- 2. The Honorable John E. Cass is appointed a member of the appeal panel for a period of one year from May 1, 2002.
- 3. The Honorable Joanne M. Smith is appointed Chief Judge of the appeal panel, effective May 1, 2002. Judge Smith succeeds the Honorable Kenneth J. Maas, Jr., who retires April 30, 2002.
- The following judges are reappointed alternate members of the appeal panel for a period of one year from May 1, 2002:

The Honorable James H. Clark, Jr.

The Honorable Kathleen Gearin

The Honorable James D. Gibbs - retired

The Honorable Gregg E. Johnson

The Honorable Margaret Shaw Johnson

The Honorable Marilyn J. Kaman

The Honorable Henry W. McCarr-retired

The Honorable Gary J. Meyer

The Honorable Thomas B. Poch

5. The Honorable Kenneth J. Maas, Jr. is appointed as an alternate member of the

panel for a period of one year from May 1, 2002.

6. The compensation of panel members shall be Fifty Dollars (\$50.00) for each half-day they are required to serve.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that at the conclusion of each judicial appeal panel matter the entire record on file shall be transmitted to, and maintained by, the county of commitment.

Dated: February /5, 2002

BY THE COURT:

Kathleen A. Blatz

Chief Justice